The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire
Reviews Page

The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire has been reviewed 8 times and has an overall rating of 21 points out of a possible 40, or 52.5%  positive feedback.

The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire has Well Above Average Rating The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire has Well Above Average Rating
Review Date Reviewer's Name Review
13/05/2011 14:08:34 fkbibaskxr The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Fairly Good Rating by fkbibaskxr
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] fkbibaskxr
NY
USA
22/10/2010 10:43:28 Sharon Kite The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Average Rating by Sharon Kite
The Anchor Inn is a Pub that every one needs to visit you will not find a nicer place to go for a drink .The landlady Olive and her daughter Elaine are two of the sweetest people you could ever hope to meet.Every one is welcome young and old alike. I had not visited the anchor for 10 years as i was out of country,but it was the first place i headed for on returning to stafford,and to my relief it was the same as when i left.Not only that Olive didn`t look a day older and Elaine looked younger,so the morel of this story ,IF IT WORKS DON`T CHANGE IT , GO CHECK IT OUT FOR YOURSELF WELL DONE OLIVE AND ELAINE[Report for Removal] Sharon Kite
Frostproof
Florida USA
18/10/2010 00:05:11 ytufaqfqgg The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Excellent Rating by ytufaqfqgg
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] ytufaqfqgg
NY
USA
14/09/2010 04:57:13 pdxbdoowh The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Above Average Rating by pdxbdoowh
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] pdxbdoowh
NY
USA
08/05/2010 01:11:05 izjopuag The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Well Below Average Rating by izjopuag
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] izjopuag
NY
USA
11/08/2008 12:32:52 Sue Bohanna The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Excellent Rating by Sue Bohanna
We have just come back after a weekend at this fabulous place. My other half is a longstanding member of CAMRA and former officer. He is a true real ale buff and we are also caravanners, so we could not miss out on a visit to the Anchor. We have heard that the opening hours are not to be relied upon, but fortunately for us, the pub was open both Sat and Sun, and we took advantage of the fact. This is a traditional pub, no music (hooray), just beer, cider (apple and pear), some wine (Stowells Liebfraumilch and a Stowells red) but it was obvious that they don't do a big trade in wine. The proprietoress has been running this pub for Donkeys years and I think it has come down through her family. The pub furniture is ancient, the interior remains unchanged from many years ago. It truly is a time warp, but this adds to its appeal. It would be a tragedy if this pub ever changed hands to someone who sought to change it in any way and to make it more modern. There was not a choice of beer as such, but the real ale available on tap (Wadworth 6X) was (I am reliably informed)well kept. This is a real drinkers pub. There are no bar meals, only crisps, nuts etc. Most of the people who use it are either from canal barges or are people camping on the site, so most have brought food supplies with them. This is worth anybody's time to visit. You will not be disappointed![Report for Removal] Sue Bohanna
RHYL
Denbighshire
28/07/2008 13:24:18 Malcolm Dawson The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Very Good Rating by Malcolm Dawson
I have always wanted to visit this pub as I pass on the canal but it has never been open. This time it was and what an experience!! I stayed for 3 days! It takes you back to a completely different era and the pub has been untouched for decades. It is run by Olive and her daughter and opening times are sometimes unpredictable. We were lucky as the pub was open at lunchtime and again in the evening from 7pm. Wadworths 6X available at 2.60 a pint and Pear cider poured from a glass flagon. Moorings available directly outside for boaters. Don't expect to eat here but just enjoy a different experience. In the evening, some of the locals pick up their guitars and sing entertaining songs!! You are made very welcome, you just have to ignore the basic facilities. It is set in fantastic countryside and a walk to the church at High Offley is recommended for the views. The camp site looked good for a weekend away! Recommended for a visit! Malcolm Dawson[Report for Removal] Malcolm Dawson
Hemel Hempstead
Herts
13/07/2007 18:33:43 laura beck The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire was given an Excellent Rating by laura beck
This pub is a gem - as long as you aren't expecting a huge choice of real ales (there was one - 6X so not bad) or ciders (there was one - so good I can't remember what it was!!!)The pub is in a time warp and is packed with charm - it has hardly been touched since it was built for the water traffic of 150 years ago. There are two small bars and a beautiful beer garden which fronts straight on to the Shropshire Union canal. Opening hours are brief - we arrived on a July Saturday lunchtime to find that the place shuts from 2.30 to 7.00pm - but well worth working round. The people were really friendly and it was so relaxed. Getting there is a bit of an adventure - narrow windy lanes - so I would imagine that getting back after a drop or two would be treacherous so I suggest you do what we did and camp in the field next door!! (And at 3.50 each per night it was cheaper than a taxi back.)The pub has a site for touring vans and a seperate sight for tents - nearer the loos which are lit and unlocked all night. And camping meant that we weren't bothered by the apparent lack of pub grub as the landlady was more than happy for us to get the barbecue going. (If you are camping, try and remember to bring everything as the nearest shops are a way back down those scary lanes....) I picked 'excellent' as that is what it was for us. Some folk may want the more plastic palace approach of the big brewery chains but I say long may there remain places like the Anchor Inn where personability, peace and charm are the order of the day.[Report for Removal] laura beck
uttoxeter
staffordshire

Add a Review for The Anchor Inn, High Offley, Stafford, Staffordshire

These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Pubsulike and should not be taken as the views of Pubsulike - publishers of this web site. However if you feel a review should be removed or investigated please let us know by using the [Report for Removal] link.

Featured Pub
The George, Mere, Warminster, Wiltshire

 -  This weeks featured Pub

Email a Photo of your Pub, Bar or Inn to Pubsulike. We will display it in our Pub Guide Free!