The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon
Reviews Page

The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon has been reviewed 12 times and has an overall rating of 39 points out of a possible 60, or 65%  positive feedback.

The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon has Fairly Good Rating The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon has Fairly Good Rating
Review Date Reviewer's Name Review
04/04/2010 17:36:15 Malcolm The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Malcolm
Traditional country pub where the warm welcome from the roaring wood fire is matched by that of the landlord. Excellent food, with generous portions, seems to be home cooked from local produce. Looking forward to visiting again[Report for Removal] Malcolm
Boston
Lincolnshire
02/04/2010 01:36:44 Jeremy Gillbanks The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Jeremy Gillbanks
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] Jeremy Gillbanks
bideford
devon
01/04/2010 10:30:32 Stanley Stanford-Stimson The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Very Good Rating by Stanley Stanford-Stimson
I saw a mordant criticism levelled at The New Inn by an anonymous reviewer and felt that he/she was at the wrong pub. We, as a family, regularly visit The New Inn and find nothing unfavourable at all - indeed quite the reverse. Perhaps the critic was confused, had eaten somewhere else and that caused so much bile. It is a pity that he/she had not the moral courage to put their name to the article, but we would prefer such people to stay away and reserve their splenetic outbursts for other targets.[Report for Removal] Stanley Stanford-Stimson
Nr Okehampton
Devonshire
09/12/2009 10:48:54 Nigel Wayne The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Nigel Wayne
Live locally, been there a few times over the years, and watched it become a disappointing let down. New owners earlier this year have re-juvenated and re-vitalised the place. Its got people there now, and good food and good beer. Prices are pretty competitive and the atmosphere is always friendly now. We go much more often now, which says it all.[Report for Removal] Nigel Wayne
Okehampton
Devon
18/07/2009 12:09:22 Shane McQuillan The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Shane McQuillan
We chanced upon the New Inn whilst on holiday, passing through the area. As it was lunchtime and our family of 2 adults and 3 kids (aged 2, 5 and 6) were all in need of sustenance, we decided to stop at the New Inn and we couldn't have made a better choice. It's a beautiful, old inn with a thatched roof, and a spacious beer garden out the back. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more welcoming, particularly in view of the three small kids in our group. Service was very good, the food of really top quality, and the atmosphere (on a warm Friday lunchtime) was nice. Toilets were immaculate. Next time we're in the area, we'll certainly be back. Best of luck to the new licensees. I only just wish that we had such a lovely "local" where we live![Report for Removal] Shane McQuillan
Ennis
Clare, Ireland
01/07/2009 09:14:03 Sandra Greenway The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Average Rating by Sandra Greenway
My Husband and Myself ,have bought a 15 year lease on the new inn,and hope all previous customers return to give us a try.We have lowered the beer prices by 30 pence a pint and do a good traditional pub food menu,value for money.Present customer feedback is that people are very happy and we already have many repeat customers.Hopefully we can continue to please many more.we are having music nights,quiz nights,on a monthly basis,creating a nice family atmosphere.[Report for Removal] Sandra Greenway
Okehampton
Devon
17/06/2009 17:13:16 Vikki The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Vikki
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] Vikki
Aldershot
Hants
05/02/2009 09:38:41 C.M.H.Brady The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Average Rating by C.M.H.Brady
The beer at the New Inn is, in my opinion, the most expensive in the area. Blame is put on the pub owning company who anecdotally have a hold on what is served and the cost. This is why it is always so quiet; which in turn is why it is on the market. It is a vicious circle: no-one at pub - no atmosphere - no point in going out to pub! What a shame for the inhabitants of Sampford Courtenay.[Report for Removal] C.M.H.Brady
Okehampton
Devon
01/08/2008 22:27:32 John The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Below Average Rating by John
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John
Exeter
Devon
23/06/2008 22:30:23 Ray Smith The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Excellent Rating by Ray Smith
We have just returned from holiday in Devon and received excellent food and service from all the staff at this friendly and homely pub.They made our little yorkie as welcome as we were, thanks to all cocerned.Ray, Margaret, Michelle and Molly(the dog)[Report for Removal] Ray Smith
Rayleigh
Essex
23/06/2007 21:47:27 Julie Scoines The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Well Above Average Rating by Julie Scoines
My husband and I ate lunch here today. We found that the Inn offered a wide selection of good traditional English food catering for all ages/tastes. Staff were very friendly as well as polite but also very efficient. Food was cooked to perfection and we were more than satisfied with our portions. We will return and will not hesitate in recommending.[Report for Removal] Julie Scoines
Ashburton
Devon
07/06/2007 16:37:28 adam taylor The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon was given an Very Good Rating by adam taylor
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] adam taylor
sampford courtenay
devon

Add a Review for The New Inn, Sampford Courtenay, Okehampton, Devon

These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Pubsulike and should not be taken as the views of Pubsulike - publishers of this web site. However if you feel a review should be removed or investigated please let us know by using the [Report for Removal] link.

Featured Pub
The George, Mere, Warminster, Wiltshire

 -  This weeks featured Pub

Email a Photo of your Pub, Bar or Inn to Pubsulike. We will display it in our Pub Guide Free!